The year Stanwell House was built
Stanwell House was once owned by James Burcher, cousin to General James Wolf who spent his last night in the country at Stanwell House before his departure to Quebec in 1759. From 1820-1880 the hotel was a finishing school for young ladies. Between 1883 and 1890 it became the establishment of local solicitors Moore and Rawlings. It became a hotel around 1945 under the name Stanwell House Hotel. Now a vibrant sailing town Lymington dates back to the Iron Age and originally flourished on the salt industry. The arrival of the railway in 1858 helped the town become the main terminal to the Isle of Wight. The yacht building and shipping industry has gone from strength to strength and Lymington now has become one of the country’s top yachting and sailing destination towns.
Stanwell House celebrates 10 years of private ownership
Stanwell House continues to thrive as a hotel and 2017 sees a celebration of 10 years of private ownership. The only boutique hotel in Lymington it boasts 29 individually designed bedrooms, an array of restaurants and dining areas, a stunning garden area and its own private yacht moored down at the marina. A popular venue for holiday makers and locals alike it is a thriving hub of hospitality in the heart of Lymington.